High number of independents contest local elections in Tuam area

The six independent candidates running in the Tuam area are sitting Councillors Sean Canney and Shaun Cunniffe, Teresa Killeen-Kelly, Karey McHugh, Michael Fitzmaurice and one of the last people to declare, TP Niland.

No candidate has been nominated by the Labour party for the Tuam area. There are four running for Fianna Fail, (Nora Fahy, Mary Hoade, Donagh Killilea, Eamon Kitt) four for Fine Gael (Tom McHugh, Larry Bane, Peter Roche, Peter Keaveney) and one Sinn Fein, Maeve O'Brien.

Confirmed as running in the seven-seat Athenry-Oranmore area are five independents: Jim Cuddy, James Charity, Michael Ryan, David Collins and Roderick O'Driscoll. There are two Labour candidate (Madge Dean, Clement Shelvin), four Fine Gael (Frank Kearney, Liam Carroll, Josette Farrell, Peter Feeney), three Fianna Fail (Cathal Moran, Malachy Noone, Martina Kinnane), one Sinn Fein (Gabe Cronnelly) and Suzanne O'Keefe for Fís Nua.


In the six-seat Ballinasloe area there is just one independent (Tim Broderick) running, three Fianna Fail ( Donal Burke, Michael Connolly, Pat O'Sullivan, one Labour candidate (Johnny Walsh) and three Fine Gael ( Aidan Donohue, Michael Finnerty, Kevin Ryan) and one Sinn Fein (Dermot Connolly).

There are 13 candidates running in the eight-seat Loughrea area and 22 candidates in the nine-seat Connemara electoral area.