Cookies on The Tuam Herald website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Tuam Herald website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • News

Massive local vote in Glenamaddy and Williamstown

Sunday, 26th May, 2019 3:10pm

Story by Siobhan Holliman
Jump to comments
Massive local vote in Glenamaddy and Williamstown

Michael Connolly elected on first count. Photo: Ray Ryan

Massive local vote in Glenamaddy and Williamstown

Michael Connolly elected on first count. Photo: Ray Ryan

INDEPENDENT Tim Broderick has topped the poll in the Ballinasloe area once again and has been elected on the first count.

He was joined by Moylough’s Michael Connolly of Fianna Fail whose first preference vote also well exceeded the quota which is set at 1,894.

Connolly and Broderick take the first two seats in this six-seat electoral area the geography of which has changed considerably since 2014. It now includes large chunks of the Tuam area, including Glenamaddy and Williamstown.

Voters in those areas have clearly voted to keep their councillors local with candidates Peter Keaveney FG and Declan Geraghty succeeding in securing a massive vote for the area between them.

Keaveney who was elected in the Tuam area in 2014 has 1,632 first preference votes while Geraghty, backed by Deputy Michael Fitzmaurice and aiming to retain the seat held by Ind Des Joyce, received 1,541.

It’s an anxious wait now for FG’s Aidan Donohoe and Michael Finnerty, who have both seen their vote fall, while environmental campaigner Aisling Dolan IND has polled very strongly in the urban areas of Ballinasloe and is also in contention for a seat.



Number of seats: 6

Electorate: 13,462

Valid poll: 13,251


First count

Tim Broderick IND 2,362

Michael Connolly FF 2,168

Peter Keaveney FG 1,632

Declan Geraghty IND 1,541

Dermot Connolly SF 1,387

Aisling Dolan IND 1,082

Aidan Donohue FG 845

Michael Finnerty FG 697

Mike Kelly FF 511

Ken Campbell SD 407

Harriett Bruce IND 311

Kenneth O’Brien FF 308


* Broderick and Connolly elected

Purchase a digital edition gift subscription for 1 YEAR  for those overseas. Local news on the move and accessible on all platforms; desktop, tablet and smartphones