Cookies on The Tuam Herald website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Tuam Herald website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • News

High number of independents contest local elections in Tuam area

Saturday, 3rd May, 2014 1:00pm

Story by Siobhan Holliman
Jump to comments
High number of independents contest local elections in Tuam area
High number of independents contest local elections in Tuam area

The six independent candidates running in the Tuam area are sitting Councillors Sean Canney and Shaun Cunniffe, Teresa Killeen-Kelly, Karey McHugh, Michael Fitzmaurice and one of the last people to declare, TP Niland.

No candidate has been nominated by the Labour party for the Tuam area. There are four running for Fianna Fail, (Nora Fahy, Mary Hoade, Donagh Killilea, Eamon Kitt) four for Fine Gael (Tom McHugh, Larry Bane, Peter Roche, Peter Keaveney) and one Sinn Fein, Maeve O'Brien.

Confirmed as running in the seven-seat Athenry-Oranmore area are five independents: Jim Cuddy, James Charity, Michael Ryan, David Collins and Roderick O'Driscoll. There are two Labour candidate (Madge Dean, Clement Shelvin), four Fine Gael (Frank Kearney, Liam Carroll, Josette Farrell, Peter Feeney), three Fianna Fail (Cathal Moran, Malachy Noone, Martina Kinnane), one Sinn Fein (Gabe Cronnelly) and Suzanne O'Keefe for Fís Nua.


In the six-seat Ballinasloe area there is just one independent (Tim Broderick) running, three Fianna Fail ( Donal Burke, Michael Connolly, Pat O'Sullivan, one Labour candidate (Johnny Walsh) and three Fine Gael ( Aidan Donohue, Michael Finnerty, Kevin Ryan) and one Sinn Fein (Dermot Connolly).

There are 13 candidates running in the eight-seat Loughrea area and 22 candidates in the nine-seat Connemara electoral area.




Purchase a digital edition gift subscription for 1 YEAR  for those overseas. Local news on the move and accessible on all platforms; desktop, tablet and smartphones