KILKERRIN-CLONBERNE manager Willie Ward and his players celebrate with the crowd after third All-Ireland senior club ladies football final victory over Ballymacarbry of Waterford in Croke Park last Saturday.


Galway LGFA champions continue to make history

IT WAS a weekend of contrasting emotions for Galway clubs on the national stage, with Croke Park highlighting the agony and ecstasy that can come with competing on All-Ireland final day.

The unstoppable force that are the Kilkerrin-Clonberne ladies footballers once again produced on the big occasion to take a third Dolores Tyrrell Cup back to North Galway.

Roll of honour leader Ballymacarbry, who themselves dominated ladies club football from the late 1980s and 1990s, proved no match. Even if a late scoring flurry put some respectability on the final scoreline.

Driven forward by the Noones, Wards, Divillys and co, Kilkerrin-Clonberne highlighted once again their present peerless status in the club game as they became only the second club ever (after Ballymacarbry, who managed seven in-a-row) to win three All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Club Championship title in as many years.

A devastating inside forward line of Eva Noone, Chloe Miskell and Lynsey Noone ran amok at GAA Headquarters with a strong defensive performance also choking the life out of the opposition at the other end of the field…

For extensive coverage, pick up this week’s Tuam Herald or log onto our digital edition HERE