KILKERRIN-CLONBERNE'S Claire Dunleavy breaks a tackle from Ciara McManamon of Burrishoole during last year's Connacht Senior Club Football Championship final.PHOTO: RAY RYAN


Kilkerrin-Clonberne bid for Connacht six in-a-row

WE'RE fast approaching the sharp end of the All-Ireland Senior Ladies Club Football Championship and provincial finals are scheduled across all four provinces over the coming weekends.

Dolores Tyrrell Cup holders Kilkerrin-Clonberne have shown no signs of any slippage in 2023 and go in as overwhelming favourites to complete a Connacht six in-a-row against Mayo's Knockmore on Sunday lunchtime in Swinford Amenity Park (throw-in: 1pm).

Leading contenders have been falling like ninepins elsewhere. 2022 runners-up Donaghmoyne from Monaghan, winners of 15 Ulster titles in the last 18 years, were dumped out by Antrim champions St. Ergnat's. Donegal's Termon, another past champion, were knocked out by Errigal Ciarán from Tyrone.

There was also a super-heavyweight faller in Munster with the elimination of 2018 and '19 All-Ireland victors Mourneabbey from Cork after they came undone in extra-time against Banner Ladies from Clare.

Right now, eight clubs remain in the hunt for national silverware and, of them, only Waterford's Ballymacarbry and Kilkerrin-Clonberne have previously won it all. Dublin and Leinster title holders Kilmacud Crokes go head-to-head with Naomh Ciarán from Offaly in their provincial final.

Ballymacarbry, the 42 in-a-row champions from the Déise County, meet Banner Ladies in Munster. Armagh's Clann Eirean and Bredagh from Down will contest the Ulster decider. Leinster host Connacht and Munster are away to Ulster in All-Ireland semi-finals scheduled for the weekend of December 2-3. The final is slated for December 16-17…

For more, pick up this week’s Tuam Herald or log onto our digital edition HERE