THE victorious 1973 Dunmore MacHales team.

Jubilee Time

Dunmore MacHales heroes of 1973 and ’83 to be honoured

MARKING the 50th and 40th anniversaries of their county titles, the Dunmore MacHales teams of 1973 and ‘83 will be guests of honour at Sunday’s Galway Senior Football Championship final between Maigh Cuilinn and Corofin.

Dunmore were the first club to win the championship back in 1889 and sit fourth on the current roll of honour with 15 successes. Two golden periods in their illustrious history are responsible for the majority of them, firstly between 1900-’12 and later when the club won the competition five times in the 1960s.

Their last two came when defeating University College Galway in the 1973 final and against Clonbur in ‘83. Both winning teams will be presented to the crowd at half-time during Sunday’s showpiece at Pearse Stadium…

For more, pick up this week’s Tuam Herald or log onto our digital edition HERE