GALWAY vice-captain Matthew Tierney takes a spectacular one-handed mark during Sunday’s National Football League Division 1 win over Kerry at Pearse Stadium. PHOTO: RAY RYAN


Galway face arch rivals Mayo in this Sunday’s National League Division 1 final

YOU have to go all the way back to 1981 for the last time Galway won a National Football League Division 1 title.

The Tribesmen defeated Roscommon by 1-11 to 1-2 in the final played in front of 22,000 fans at Croke Park. It was the tenth match played by the men in maroon and started with round-robin defeats of Antrim, Laois, Derry, Meath and Tyrone, as well as draws with Monaghan and Mayo.

In the knockout stages, Galway overcame Ulster champions Armagh at the quarter-final stage, Munster and All-Ireland champions Kerry in the semi-final, before an emphatic victory over their neighbours in the decider.

The vital goal on the day came from Gay McManus and the Milltown man would finish with 1-4 to his name. Steven Joyce scored three points, Barry Brennan two, and there was one apiece from Tom Naughton and Billy Joyce.

After the match Galway manager Mattie McDonagh was chaired across the field by ecstatic supporters and the trophy was presented to Brennan by GAA President Paddy McFlynn. The late Frank Stockwell and Bertie Coleman were team selectors.

Sunday afternoon’s decider at Croke Park brings an opportunity of improving on one of the more curious records in the county’s proud footballing history…

For more, pick up this week’s Tuam Herald or log onto our digital edition HERE