GALWAY centre-back and vice-captain Seán Neary in action against Kilkenny during this summer’s Leinster U-20 Hurling Championship. :PHOTO: EVAN TREACY | INPHo


GALWAY will contest two All-Ireland hurling finals against Cork over the next four days with tonight’s (Wednesday) U-20 decider in Thurles seeing the Tribesmen go in search of ending a drought at the grade which dates back to 2011. Throw-in is 7.30pm with live coverage being broadcast on TG4.

Since '11, between U-18 and U-17, Galway have captured five Minor titles over that timeframe and on Saturday will go in search of an astounding and never-been-done five in-a-row at the grade versus the Leesiders, also in Thurles and live on TG4 (7.15pm).

Jeffrey Lynskey’s current U-20 squad is backboned by those recent Minor champions and in his ranks he can call upon three All-Ireland winning captains in Seán Neary, Ian McGlynn and Adam Nolan as well as a trio of former Minor Hurlers of the Year in Donal O’Shea, Seán McDonagh and Liam Collins, with the Cappataggle man expected to be among the subs.

Read more in this week's edition of The Tuam Herald, on sale in shops and online