Cookies on The Tuam Herald website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Tuam Herald website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Sport

Kilkerrin-Clonberne ladies complete the 'drive for five'

Wednesday, 13th September, 2017 10:40am
Jump to comments
Kilkerrin-Clonberne ladies complete the 'drive for five'
Kilkerrin-Clonberne ladies complete the 'drive for five'

By Darren Kelly

KILKERRIN-CLONBERNE ladies footballers are on the provincial road again after securing a historic fifth consecutive County Senior Championship title on Saturday.

An Annette Clarke penalty five minutes from time proved critical for John Fleming’s team after they weathered an early Corofin surge and late rally to become the first club to lift the Fergal Tierney Memorial Trophy.
They emulated Corofin, who achieved their ‘Drive for Five’ in 2010, but the nine-time winners played their part in an intriguing contest that was dictated as much by missed chances and stunning saves from 'keeper Dearbhla Gower before Clarke’s crucial penalty.

Read the full report in this week's edition of The Tuam Herald

Purchase a digital edition gift subscription for 1 YEAR  for those overseas. Local news on the move and accessible on all platforms; desktop, tablet and smartphones