Cookies on The Tuam Herald website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Tuam Herald website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Sport

County U-21 B titles for Kilkerrin-Clonberne and Ahascragh-Fohenagh

Wednesday, 16th May, 2012 10:54am

By HERALD SPORT reporters

Kilkerrin-Clonberne .-0-7

Maigh Cuilinn -0-6

AT Tuam Stadium on Sunday the North U-21 ‘B' football champions Kilkerrin-Clonberne added the County title to their growing collection of silverware with a one-point win over Maigh Cuilinn, who they also defeated in the final of this competition two years ago. Sunday's final didn't produce the same quality or excitement as the North Board final, which Kilkerrin-Clonberne won with a sustained effort against an excellent Caherlistrane team, and the reason why the county final didn't match that high standard was a simple one — a gale-force wind, blowing into the town goal.

On the same day, the County U-21 B hurling title went to Ahascragh-Fohenagh thanks to a brilliant win over Kilnadeema-Leitrim, 2-9 to 0-6, at St Brendan's Park, Loughrea.

It was a really bad day for football in Tuam, as cold as it was windy, and no surprise that neither side scored in the opening 12 minutes. Playing with the wind, Moycullen built up a lead of three points to no score, and 4-2 at half-time after the two Kilkerrin-Clonberne scoring aces Shane Walsh and Conor Rabbitte had hit a point apiece. Moycullen made it a three-point lead on the resumption, scored by Philip O'Dwyer from play, but they were not to score again until injury-time. From 5-2 down, Kilkerrin-Clonberne rallied and three Shane Walsh points in a row (two off frees) made it level pegging. Cathal Moran gave them the lead with a point from play three minutes from the end, followed by a Conor Rabbitte point in injury-time. A last-gasp Moycullen point did not affect the outcome.


Kilkerrin-Clonberne: F. McEntee; S. Collins, F. O'Reilly, A. Rabbitte; Cathal Moran (0-1), A. Ward, captain; G. Higgins; M. Coleman, M. Shaughnessy; M. Ronayne, S. Walsh (0-4, three frees), E. Moran; Conor Moran, S. Dunleavy, C. Rabbitte (0-2). Subs., C. Halvey, for Coleman; P. Gormally, for Ronayne; M. Coleman, for Dunleavy.

Maigh Cuilinn: L Ó Nualláin; G. Ó Botháin, S. Ó Deoráin, S. Ó Conghaile; P. Ezergalis, E. Breathnach (0-1), P. Mac Giolla Dhuaidh; D. Wynne, M. Ó Coileáin (0-1); C. Grant, F. Ó Ciarragáin, P. Ó Dubhair (0-2); S. Wynne (0-1), D. Ó Reannachain (0-1), R Ó Domhaill. Subs., P Mac Giolla Bháin, for Grant; E. Ó Ciarragáin, for D. Wynne.

Referee: Teddy Kerin.

At Loughrea on Sunday, goals by Stephen Smyth (first half) and Cormac Dervan (second half) kept Ahascragh-Fohenagh in control of the County U-21 B hurling final against Kilnadeema-Leitrim. Cathal Mannion gave a Man of the Match display for the winners.

Purchase a digital edition gift subscription for 1 YEAR  for those overseas. Local news on the move and accessible on all platforms; desktop, tablet and smartphones